4 NPA rebels in S. Leyte yield

By: Joey Gabieta / Philippine Daily Inquirer

TACLOBAN CITY – Four members of the New People’s Army (NPA), whose group is operating in Southern Leyte province, have decided to return to the folds of the law.

“Correano,” “Mak,” “Roger,” and “Bebot,” surrendered to Lt. Col. Ernesto de la Rosa, surrendered to the commanding officer of the 14th Infantry Battalion which is based in Mahaplag town, Leyte with the help of Reynaldo Aguillon, the village chairman of San Francisco Mabuhay, Sogod town in Southern Leyte, last September 18

Based on the information of the battalion, the former rebels were members of the Platoon 1 of island committee Levox of the Eastern Visayas Regional Party of the Communist Party of the Philippines-NPA operating in parts of Leyte and Southern Leyte provinces.

Among their responsibilities was to provide food items and to mobilize farmers against the government.

Brig. Gen. Zosimo Oliveros, the commanding officer of the 802nd Infantry Brigade based in Ormoc City, lauded the effort of village chairman Aguillon in facilitating the surrender of the former rebels.

“I’m expressing my sincere appreciation to the barangay task force and ELCAC (local communist armed conflict) of San Francisco Mabuhay and profound thanks to the four former couriers of CPP-NPA-NDF terrorists for returning to the folds of the law,” he said.

Oliveros also called on active rebels to give up their armed struggle against the government and avail of all the benefits being provided to them like livelihood and financial assistance.

“You must realize that the people are no longer supporting your lost and senseless cause. It is about time to return to the folds of the law and to rejoin with the mainstream of society. Your time is up actually,” he said.


Related Posts

See All

PRESS RELEASE NTF-ELCAC MEDIA BUREAU June 06, 2022 MONUMENT FOR KIETH ABSALON UNVEILED IN MASBATE Serving as a perpetual reminder of football star Kieth Absalon who was mercilessly killed by the New P

No tags yet.