top of page

12 NPA militias yield to PNP in Agusan Norte

By Alexander Lopez / Philippine News Agency

NEW LIVES. Twelve Militia ng Bayan under the dismantled Guerrilla Front 4A of the New People’s Army surrender in Carmen, Agusan del Norte on Thursday afternoon (Oct. 14, 2021). The Police Regional Office in Caraga said Friday (Oct. 15) the 12 surrenderers will be assisted to avail the programs and services of the government to help them renew their lives. (Photo courtesy of PRO-13 Information Office)

BUTUAN CITY – The Police Regional Office in Caraga (PRO-13) announced on Friday afternoon the surrender of at least 12 Militia ng Bayan (MB) under the Dismantled Guerrilla Front 4A (DGF-4A) in Agusan del Norte.

In a statement Friday, PRO-13 Director, Brig. Gen. Romeo Caramat Jr. said the 12 MBs turned themselves in at the Carmen Municipal Police Station in Carmen town.

“The 12 MBs abandoned the ruthless ideology of the NPA and chose to live peaceful lives in their communities,” Caramat said.

He added that the 12 MBs voluntarily surrendered on Thursday afternoon.

Caramat identified the surrenderers through their underground aliases as Pirok-Pirok, Danny, Kuago, Tams, More, Jack, Dagsa, Jimmy, Danny, Jay, Gemma, and Narra.

The DGF-4A is under the command of the North Central Mindanao Regional Committee of the NPA.

Caramat also recognized the efforts of the local officials of Carmen for facilitating the surrender of the NPA militias.

“This accomplishment is another headway in the implementation of Executive Order No. 70 to end local communist armed conflict in the region,” Caramat said.

He is also hopeful that more NPA guerrillas in Caraga will lay down their arms and return to mainstream society.

“NPA insurgents have started to realize the sincerity of our government in giving another chance to live in peace and prosperity,” Caramat said.

He added that PRO-13 will work with the other agencies to help the surrenderers avail of the Enhanced Comprehensive Local Integration Program of the government.

The Philippines' Anti-Terrorism Council has designated the Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP), the NPA, and the National Democratic Front as terrorist groups.

The United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand also listed the CPP-NPA as a terrorist organization. (PNA)



No tags yet.
bottom of page