top of page

3 NPA rebels surrender in Nueva Ecija

By Jason De Asis / Philippine News Agency

GOOD LIFE AHEAD. Three former members of the communist terrorist group voluntarily surrender to authorities in Nueva Ecija on Tuesday (Dec. 21, 2021). The surrenderers said they decided to leave the underground movement because they wanted to live peacefully with their loved ones. (Photo courtesy of the Army's 91IB)

BALER, Aurora – In their desire to continue to live peacefully with their families, three inactive members of the communist group New People’s Army (NPA) have voluntarily surrendered to authorities in Nueva Ecija on Tuesday.

In an interview on Wednesday, Lt. Col. Julito B. Recto, Jr., officer-in-charge of the Philippine Army’s 91st Infantry “Sinagtala” Battalion (91IB), identified the surrenderers as Ka Ricky, 38, a former member of Sentro de Gabridad-Nueva Ecija; and Ka Lito, 37, and Ka Wilma, both formerly belonging to the NPA's Aurora Provincial Committee.

Recto said elements of the 91IB’s Alpha Company, together with other security forces, facilitated the surrender of the three former rebels, who are all residents of Gabaldon, Nueva Ecija. They are now in the custody of 91IB’s Alpha Company in Dingalan, Aurora for custodial debriefing and proper documentation.

Recto said the surrenderers decided to officially leave the underground movement after being inactive for some time because they wanted to live in peace together with their loved ones.

Likewise, he said the former rebels learned that their comrades who have surrendered to authorities ahead of them are now enjoying the good life with the help of the government.

“I assure the surrendered rebels that the 91IB will help them return to their normal way of life through the delivery of basic social and public safety services. With our collective efforts and whole-of-nation approach, we can make a difference in securing our people from any terroristic acts,” Recto said.

The Communist Party of the Philippines-NPA is listed as a terrorist organization by the United States, European Union, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the Philippines. (PNA)



No tags yet.
bottom of page