top of page

Pres. Ferdinand Marcos Jr. Fetes 41 NTF-ELCAC 'Gawad Parangal’ Awardees

December 05, 2023

President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. has feted forty-one individuals, government agencies and civic organizations in the ‘Gawad Parangal Award’ during 5th Founding Anniversary of the National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (NTF-ELCAC) at Camp Aguinaldo in Quezon City on December 4.

The ‘Gawad Parangal Award’ recognizes the dedication and remarkable efforts of those involved in the pursuit of peace, development, and the eradication of armed conflict.

Their relentless endeavors have not only been instrumental in achieving the objectives of the NTF-ELCAC but have also significantly impacted the lives of countless individuals across the nation.

“I also convey my congratulations to the Gawad Parangal Awardees for your valuable contribution in the promotion of lasting peace, unity and sustainable development in areas formerly affected by conflict,” said Marcos, in a speech read by Special Assistant to President (SAP) Secretary Antonio Ernesto Lagdameo Jr.

Marcos said he appreciates and applauds the significant role and efforts of the awardees in fostering long-term peace, unity, and sustainable growth within regions that have previously grappled with conflict.

The President also acknowledges the collective efforts of various entities in reaching unprecedented milestones in the battle against insurgency, marking a significant and unparalleled advancement in the country's history.

“Through the shared efforts of all considered agencies, stakeholders and the general public, our country has achieved milestones and the fight against insurgency that have never been achieved before,” he said.

Since the establishment of the NTF-ELCAC, numerous communities nationwide have been liberated from the influence of communist forces, marking an unprecedented achievement in restoring autonomy and stability to these barangays.

Marcos also emphasized the significant impact of NTF-ELCAC’s activation.

“Since the activation of the NTF-ELCAC, thousands of barangays accross the country have been cleared from communist influence,” he said.

Among the awardees are the following:

Region I

1. Provincial Government of Ilocos Sur

2. Dra. Shiela Marie Primicias

Region II

1. Local Government Unit of Maddela, Quirino

2. Hon. Manuel N. Mamba

3. Hon. Dakila Carlo E. Cua

Region IV-A

1. Quezon Provincial Government

2.85th Infantry Battalion

Region IV-B

1. Kapatiran ng mga Dating Rebelde sa Palawan (KADRE-Palawan)

2. Jerwin "Ka Berting" Castigador

3. Marine Battalion Landing Team-3

Region VI

1. Governor Eugenio Jose V. Lacson

2. Juan Jovian E. Ingeniero, CESO IV

3. Prosec. Flosemer Chris Gonzales

Region VII

1. Knights of Rizal

2.302nd Brigade, Philippine Army

3. City Government of Guihulngan

Region VIII

1. Ms. Alma Gabin

2. Samar Peacebuilder Groups (PBGs)

3. Police Regional Office 8

Region IX

1. Provincial Local Government Unit of Zamboanga del Sur (PLGU-ZDS)

2. MGen Leonel M. Nicolas PA

3. Maximino C. Son Jr.

Region X

1. Philippine Information Agency - Region X

2. Dir. Mylah Faye Aurora B. Cariño, CESO III

3. Dr. Catherine Roween C. Almaden, PhD

Region XI

1. Police Regional Office XI

2. 10th Infantry Division, Philippine Army

Region XII

1. Local Government Unit of Alabel, Sarangani

2. Mayor Vic Paul M. Salarda

3. Rafael Y. Abrogar II


1. Governor Elias C. Bulut, Jr.

2. Philippine Information Agency - CAR (PIA-CAR)

3. Provincial Government of Kalinga (CAR)

4. Mayor Benjamin B. Magalong (CAR)



2. Punong Barangay Venancio Santidad

3. Mr. Gabriel Aranzamendez

4. D. Edgard A. Cabangon


1. Provincial Government of Sulu

2. Ferdinand Cabrera

3. United Nations Development Program

As the nation commemorates NTF-ELCAC, created by Executive Order No. 70, the recognition of these remarkable individuals, government agencies, and civic organizations underscores the value of their tireless efforts in addressing the challenges posed by local communist armed conflict. ###


Ref: Joel M. Sy Egco


December 05, 2023


No tags yet.
bottom of page